Jayden Daniels or Malik Nabers – Who Is More Likely to Win Offensive Rookie of the Year?

Although the two former LSU stars have called off their bet, it’s still an interesting hypothetical to consider.

Quarterback Jayden Daniels and wide receiver Malik Nabers, former LSU teammates and top-10 picks in the 2024 NFL Draft, made a $10,000 wager on who would win the NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year award last week.


Daniels, who was drafted second overall by the Washington Commanders after winning the Heisman last year, made the bet with his former wide receiver Nabers, who was taken by the New York Giants with the sixth pick. Daniels is currently the second favorite to win, while Nabers is fourth favorite.


While the bet was called off due to it potentially falling afoul of the NFL’s strict rules on gambling, it’s an interesting conundrum.


The Offensive Rookie of the Year is a far more equitable award than the Most Valuable Player award. Of the last 10 winners, four were quarterbacks, three were running backs, and three were wide receivers.


Rookie quarterbacks can often struggle when first entering the league, especially given they can sometimes be thrust into very tricky situations, like Bryce Young on the Carolina Panthers last year.


Receivers are usually drafted slightly later and there is less of a learning curve, but have to really excel to win the award. Ja’Marr Chase in 2021 had the fourth-most yards and the third-most touchdowns in the league, while Odell Beckham Jr. in 2014 led the league in yards per game. Garrett Wilson in 2022 had more pedestrian numbers, but was part of a weak offensive rookie class.


Stats of Previous Wide Receiver OROY Winners




Garrett Wilson


Ja’Marr Chase


Odell Beckham Jr


















Receiving Yards








Receiving Touchdowns








Nabers would have to instantly be one of the best receivers in the league to win the award. Daniels would certainly have to be good, but he would not have to be a top-five quarterback to be in contention. He’s also surrounded by far more talent than Nabers, and therefore is more likely to win the award.


Learn More →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *